School Governance

Who is on our Governing Body?

The governing body consists of people from the school’s community: parents; school staff; representatives of the Local Authority and people from the local community.

  • Mr S Brown – Head Teacher
  • Mr N Bradshaw – Chair
  • Cllr M Brain – Vice Chair and Co-opted Governor
  • Reverend Joan Robinson Co Opted
  • Mrs C Cameron – Associate Member
  • Mr P Cameron – Associate Member
  • Cllr K Ferdinand – Local Authority Governor
  • Mrs L Kelly – Co-opted Governor
  • Mr C Robson – Vice Chair
  • Mrs S Thomas – Parent Governor
  • Mr A Tribe – Co-opted Governor

A Parent Governor must have a child at the school when they become a governor and may complete their term of office even if their child has already left the school. When a vacancy arises for a parent governor, a letter is sent out to all parents asking for nominees.  If more than one nomination is received, all parents are asked to vote for their choice of governor.

Contacting the Governing Body

If you would like to contact the Governing Body, please send your correspondence to school and we will forward it to the Chair of Governors, Nigel Bradshaw.

How to Become a School Governor

If you require further information on the roles and responsibilities of School Governors or if you are interested in becoming one, visit the Gateshead Council website School Governor section.



More Information

What do Governors do? 

Together with the Head Teacher, Governors set the future direction for the school and decide how the school’s budget should be spent.  Governing bodies make decisions collectively on matters such as performance targets, school policies and the school’s development plan.  Governors monitor the impact of policies and oversee the use of the school’s budget.  They report to parents on the school’s achievements and respond to inspection recommendations. They work closely with staff members in developing and monitoring specific curriculum areas.




Governing Body – Appointment/Attendance/Pecuniary Interests

NameDate of AppointmentTerm of OfficeDate of Stepping DownBody by which appointedPecuniary interestsAttendanceCommittee: F Finance & Premises; C Curriculum & Achievement
Mr Nigel BradshawAppointed01/04/2018Governing BodyNone3/3.C Chair
Cllr M BrainAppointed01/04/2018Governing BodyGov of West Lane Primary1/3.F Chair
Mr Simon BrownHead Teacher -Ex OfficioNone3/3.C F
Mrs Cheryl CameronAssociate Member13/3/21Governing BodyNone3/3C
Mr Paul CameronAppointed16/03/2019Governing BodyNone2/3.F
Ms Jill ChaplinCo-Opted01/04/20189/9/16Governing BodyNone2/3.
Cllr K FerdinandLA06/09/2018Governing BodyNone2/3.C
Mrs Linda KellyCo-Opted01/04/2018Governing BodyNone2/3.C
Mr Chris RobsonParent27/11/2018ParentsNone3/3.C
Mrs Sarah ThomasElected27/11/2018ParentsNone2/3.F
Rev Adrian ThorpAppointed01/04/201831/12/16Governing BodyNone2/3.F
Mr Andrew TribeCo-Opted01/04/2018Governing BodyNone3/3.F
Mrs Colette BellStaff16/11/19Governing Body None3/3C
Translate »